The College of Agriculture and Food Science (CAFS) gave due recognition to its 288 graduates, composed of 127 Bachelor of Science in Agriculture (BSA), 92 Bachelor of Science in Food Technology (BSFT), 60 Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Biotechnology (BSABT), and 9 Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Chemistry (BSAgChem) during a breakfast reception held last June 24 at the Agronomy-Soils-Horticulture (ASH Lobby), Institute of Crop Science, CAFS-UPLB.

Arnel B. Villancio, Jr., a BSA graduate, major in Agricultural Systems, led this year’s batch by getting the highest general weighted average of 1.1762 (summa cum laude).Aside from receiving the Gamma Sigma Delta Honor Society of Agriculture Medal, he also received the Joaquin J. Gonzalez medal and the Dean’s Medal of Excellence.

Ma. Cristina R. Ilano, a BSFT- magna cum laude, received the Julian A. Banzon medal and the Dean’s Medal of Excellence

Other honor graduates who also received the Dean’s Medal of Excellence are Gio Ferson M. Bautista (BSAgChem, magna cum laude), Jhon Mark O. Trinidad (BSA- Horticulture, magna cum laude), Maria Sandra Renee C. Tapia (BSFT, magna cum laude), Nadine B. Coronado (BSA- Agronomy, magna cum laude), Gerieka R. Anapi (BSFT, cum laude),  Zyla N. Capiz (BSABT- Crop Biotech, cum laude), Benjamin Christian J. Esguerra (BSABT- Crop Biotech, cum laude), Elson Ian Nyl E. Galang (BSA- Landscape Agroforestry, cum laude), Jan Michael A. Salgado (BSFT, cum laude), Rex Joseph DJ. Enabore (BSA-Entomology, cum laude), Niña Kate C. Jingco (BSABT- Crop Biotech, cum laude), Elsa Joy T. Horiondo (BSFT, cum laude), Mary Shaddeline L. Zafra (BSA-Horticulture, cum laude), Maura Mercedes L. Santos (BSABT- Crop Biotech, cum laude), Maeden B. Bato (BSA-Entomology, cum laude), Maria Kenneth Lane R. Suplito (BSA- Soil Science, cum laude), Jared Lou DR. Rivera (BSFT, cum laude), Andreia Isabela P. Dita (BSFT, cum laude), Switzer Joy L. Ducos (BSABT- Crop Biotech, cum laude), Bien Coleen Q. Mayuga (BSFT, cum laude), Kathlen B. Racho (BSABT- Crop Biotech, cum laude), Mirah Jasmine R. Agquiz (BSFT, cum laude), Jomari C. Domingo (BSABT- Crop Biotech, cum laude), Czarina Ericka Mari A. Cruz (BSFT, cum laude), Heway, Christian A. Serra (BSA-Agronomy, cum laude), Joshua A. Crepa (BSFT, cum laude), Alden Bradley R. Lusanta (BSFT, cum laude), Adelbert Adrian A. Sendon (BSA- Plant Pathology, cum laude), Patricia Izabelle M. Lopez (BSA- Agronomy, cum laude), Rachele L. de Torres (BSA-Plant Pathology, cum laude), Alessandra Therese L. Matro (BSFT, cum laude), and Angel Mae D. Manato (BSA-Soil Science, cum laude).

A total of 34 or 12% of the graduates have honors.

On the other hand, Jomar P. Taguba, a BSFT graduate, got the UPLB Alumni Association Leadership Award Medal.

In his message to the students, Dean Enrico P. Supangco reminded the graduates that education does not end with a college diploma. There are many things to learn outside the real world. Moreover, he encouraged them to go into something that they are passionate about, and if they have the creativity and innovativeness, be entrepreneurial. Moreover, he advised the graduates not to waste their time as time is indeed limited. He urged them to be their own boss.

Ending his message, Dean Supangco quoted lines from Anonymous: ”A meaningful life is not being rich, being popular, being highly educated or being perfect. It is about being real, being humble, being able to share ourselves and touch the lives of others. It is only then that we could have a full, happy and contented life.” He then challenged them, “Go and be an inspiration to the Filipino people. Live up to be the Iskolar ng Bayan, Iskolar Para sa Bayan”.

Also part of the breakfast reception was the recognition of the CAFS volunteers to Ugnayan ng Pahinungod and the scholars of the Department of Agriculture-Bureau of Agricultural Research and the Sugar Regulatory Administration. They were given certificates and medals by Prof. Glenn S. Lubuguin, Dr. Alexander R. Madrigal, Dr. Nicomedes P. Eleazar and Atty. Anna Rosario V. Paner, respectively.

Gabriel M. Salazar, BSA Class 1987 and president of STERIX Inc., served as the guest speaker .

The breakfast reception was also attended by Chancellor Fernando C. Sanchez, Jr., Vice-Chancellor for Academic Affairs Portia G. Lapitan, Vice-Chancellor for Community Affairs Serlie B. Jamias, National Scientist Ricardo M. Lantican, former deans of CAFS, members of the CAFS Executive Committee, faculty, staff, and parents of the graduates. (Imelda M. Gesmundo)

Philippine Standard Time
Sunday, 18 February 2018
Back to Top