New Plant Tissue Culture facility at CSC

Written by Ann Mylalulex A. Magnaye

Research 001

The Plant Tissue Culture (PTC) facility, housed under the Crop Science Cluster (CSC), was officially inaugurated and turned over to UPLB by the Philippine Agriculture and Resources Research Foundation, Incorporated (PARRFI) last June 2.
The establishment of the said facility was originally proposed by Dr. Rene Rafael C. Espino, Dr. Evalour T. Aspuria and Dr. Ma. Lourdes O. Cedo, to have a centralized facility for tissue culture-related research, development and extension pursuits, including production of tissue cultured materials of various crops and capacity building services for students, researchers, local government units and private individuals. Its construction started in 2012 under the implementation and supervision of PARRFI, with PhP 30 million fund grant from the High value Crops Development Program (HVCDP) through the Department of Agriculture (DA)-Region IV-B (MiMaRoPa). Located behind the Agricultural Systems Cluster building, the PTC facility has tissue culture laboratories, culture rooms, molecular research laboratory, lecture and conference rooms, and stay-in quarters for future trainees. Currently, several tissue culture-related research projects and student theses involving crops such as abaca, banana and macapuno are housed in the facility. 

Research 002

DA-Bureau of Agricultural Research Director Nicomedes P. Eleazar, who represented DA Secretary Proceso J. Alcala, was the guest of honor during the inauguration.  Also present during the ceremony were Dr. Ramon V. Valmayor, president of PARRFI; Jennifer Remoquillo, director of HVCDP;  Dr. Cipriano G. Santiago, executive director of DA Region IV-B; Dr. Feliciano B. Calora, Sr., noted scientist; Dr. Jocelyn E. Eusebio, director of Crops Research Division of the Philippine Council for Agriculture, Aquatic, and Natural Resources Research and Development;Chancellor Fernando C. Sanchez, Jr.; former Dean Domingo E. Angeles, current Dean Enrico P. Supangco, CSC Director Calixto M. Protacio, CSC division heads, proponents and staff of the facility, and CSC personnel. (photos courtesy of Karen O. Tonogbanua and AMA Magnaye)



Philippine Standard Time
Thursday, 30 March 2017
Back to Top